I Crave A Love So Deep The Ocean Would Be Jealous

I heard that quote a while ago. At first I thought it was ridiculous and cheesy and I still do, yet I can most definitely relate to it.

As a child I grew up on the Disney Princess films which I absolutely adored! Snow White was my favourite and I can even recall the very day my Mum brought the video tape for me after coming home work. I would watch it endlessly and dream of one day having my own handsome Prince whisk me away, make me his bride and together we’d have lots of children and live happily ever after. Thankfully I saw sense some years later, especially with regards to the whole ‘love at first sight’ crap.

It’s such a curious thing though isn’t it? You just meet another regular human and come to like them so much that you want to live your life with them. Somehow they make you feel complete as if a part of you was missing before you met them. I’ve been so curious about love throughout my life, even to the point that I did my EPQ all about Ovid’s perception of love in ‘Metamorphoses’ a couple of years ago at college. I found it fascinating to study all the different types of love that humans can feel and analyse them and their impact. Ultimately however, I ended up concluding that love was an infectious disease that had the ability to change a person’s character for the bad as shown through the characters portrayed by Ovid.

Nevertheless, being in love has always been something I’ve wanted in my life. I began to want it as that five year old who was obsessed with wanting to be a Princess and now as a 20 year old student I still crave it more than anything. In the time between these ages I have of course experienced it. Unlike most things you have high expectations of, it wasn’t a disappointment at all. Being in love made me happier than I’ve ever been in my whole life. The only thing I wasn’t prepared for was when it all went wrong, but that’s a whole other story!

Loving someone is never a choice, no one can make themselves love someone so of course sometimes it can be a bad thing. However, after experiencing it once, I would experience the heartbreak again and again if things had to end that way. It is by far the most beautiful feeling a person can ever experience. Upon the risk of serious heartbreak, I am willing to wear my heart on my sleeve if it means I can experience it again. So, to my next future Prince, I’m ready for you!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

