Campaign

No doubt, my Dad would love me to be a politician one day. I myself have debated the idea the more and more I watch the shambles that is the current UK government. Anyway, I’m not here to rant about Brexit. I’m here to talk about a campaign I’ll be running in aid of myself in order to win a position on the council of one of my University’s student bodies.

I made the decision to run months ago and naively thought it would be a walk in the park. And so it was until I was informed that I would have competition, and tough competition at that! One of the friendliest, most beautiful and popular boys at my university is going up against me, so naturally I hate him. Only joking! If anything, I actually quite fancy him.

All banter aside, this campaign has brought out a competitive side of me that I never thought I had. Growing up I never cared for competition and made the decision to adopt the ‘it’s the taking part that counts’ moto. Whilst that works well to avoid conflict amongst children however, it gets you nowhere in the real world. If I want to win this election (which I bloody well do!) I have to play at my best.

So far, I’m doing well and I’m way more than one step ahead of my competition. I have asked someone to formally nominate me, I have written my manifesto in full, I have written a script for a promo video and also have started asking people to be part of my campaign. And all this has been done before applications to run for roles has even been released!

I want to win, however there’s a very good chance that I won’t. Nevertheless, I’m not going to throw in the towel. I have a lot of amazing ideas and a lot of campaign plans. Watch this space.

Leave a comment